Credit: Image MS-0772 courtesy of the Royal BC Museum

To own and access the rich coal deposits in Snuneymuxw Territory (now the city of Nanaimo), the Treaty of 1854 is created. Treaties were designed to take over property rights of Indigenous people to their land for settlers, resources, for both. The Treaty of 1854 was one of the 14 Douglas Treaties on Vancouver Island.